Pineapple, Orange, Banana Muffins

Seattle causes many rainy days where I feel trapped inside. You would think I would be used to the rain by now or have evolved into an auto-umbrella or at least have some sort of tolerance, but alas none of that has happened. I like the rain when I’m not feeling well and just want to lay in bed, watch a movie and sip on soup. When I am full of energy and trapped at home I begin to rummage through the cabinetsand see what I can come up with in the kitchen. That is what happened on Friday and I made these muffins which have a tropical vibe- taking my mind off the rain for a while. My loves favorite juice is Dole’s Pineapple Orange Banana (I should have Dole stock with as much as I contribute to them), so I found pineapple, oranges and bananas and made these muffins which would be a perfect brunch addition.

Pineapple, Orange, Banana Muffins

Ingredients for muffins:

½ cup butter, softened

½ cup sugar

1 large egg

2 cups flour

½ tsp baking soda

½ tsp baking powder

¼ teaspoon salt

½ cup buttermilk

½ cup sour cream

1 tsp vanilla

1 medium banana, mashed

½ cup diced fresh pineapple

½ cup diced, oranges

1 Tbs orange zest

Ingredients for topping:

⅓ cup sugar

½ teaspoon cinnamon

¼ cup flour

1 tsp orange zest

2 tablespoons butter, melted

Directions for muffins:

1. Grease 12 muffin pan cups. Preheat oven to 400.

2. Place diced pineapple and diced  oranges in food processor and chop 5 times
3. Cream butter and sugar. Add egg and beat well. Combine milk and sour cream and set aside.
4. Combine dry ingredients and add alternately with milk mixture beating just until combined. Gently fold in bananas, pineapple and oranges mixture            5. Divide mixture evenly into greased muffin cups.

6. Combine sugar, flour orange zest and cinnamon. Add butter and stir with a fork until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Sprinkle topping evenly over muffins.
7. Place muffins in oven and immediately reduce temperature to 350˚F. Bake 15 to 20 minutes or until golden and springy when gently touched on the top. 8. Cool for 10 minutes in pan.  Eat up!

Leave a Reply

