Red velvet waffles!

My kitchen is not nearly big enough for all the gadgets I collect. After seeing an idea for Monte Cristo Waffle sandwiches I told my mom about it and she quickly brought me a waffle maker. The Monte Cristo gig is on my list but my first exploration was to create a Saturday brunch for the boys with red velvet waffles which I accompanied with a vegetable scramble.  The idea came after wanting to make red velvet banana pancakes so instead I made waffles with a banana cream cheese topping. 4 plates were licked clean…I think that’s a signal of success.

Ingredients:

2 large eggs

2 cups flour

1 1/4 cups sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

4 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder

1/4 cup butter, melted and cooled

2 cups buttermilk

1 tsp vanilla

2 TBS red food coloring

Directions:

Preheat waffle iron and spray with non-stick cooking spray.

Separate your eggs. Using a whisk attachment, beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form. Mix the dry ingredients and set aside. Mix remaining wet ingredients and add to dry. Fold in beaten egg whites. Pour in waffle iron.

Banana-cream cheese topping

2 bananas mashed

1 8 oz package cream cheese

4 tbs butter- room temperature

3/4 cup powdered sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

Mix all together and top cooked waffle.

Leave a Reply

